The Cemetery of Forgotten Books

Carlos Ruiz Zafon has captured magic with The Cemetery of Forgotten Books Series. The three books that comprise the series transport their readers to a haunted and love lorn, but heartfelt and comedic Barcelona full of rich and tragic characters. With The Cemetery of Forgotten Books – a labyrinth like library – at its core, the series can be read in any order as Zafon points out in a foreward included at the beginning of the third installment, The Prisoner of Heaven.

The Prisoner of Heaven itself acts almost as an appendix to the first two novels, but doesn’t lack for excitement. Lovers of The Shadow of the Wind and The Angel’s Game will also love what Zafon has described as a Christmas tale that mostly follows Daniel Sempere and Fermin Romero de Torres as they prepare Fermin for his walk down the matrimonial aisle. The appendix nature of the novel evolves out of Fermin finally providing his backstory to Daniel in chilling and minute detail which also happens to connect The Shadow of the Wind with The Angel’s Game and provide Daniel with some more insight into the life of his mother. Amazing stuff.

This series should and will captivate any reader that loves not only great stories that touch multiple genres (romance, horror, historical etc.) but also great storytelling. Carlos Ruiz Zafon can spin a yarn and he can spin it well.


About jtkwriting

Writer living in Toronto. "Sneak out of your window darling, let's live like outlaws honey." View all posts by jtkwriting

4 responses to “The Cemetery of Forgotten Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: